Booredatwork’s Google Nexus One Video Review

SDC10589

is the Flagship Android phone by Google released on the 5th of Jan 2010. This review is going to look at the hardware, , updated browser and the camera.  The comes with a lovely 3.7 WVGA AMOLED touchscreen, 5 megapixel camera with flash and video recording. HSDPA  7.2mbps, wifi, AGPS, snapdragon 1gh processor , 512 flash and 512 rom built in and comes with a 4GB sd microsd card ( expandable to 32gb).

 

SDC10585 SDC10586 SDC10587 SDC10583

 

 

HARDWARE & OS(Android 2.1)

The Nexus one hardware it self is solid. The phone as a smooth feel to it. the hardware is robust and sturdy. A slim slick design gives it a clean finished look. I must say Google and HTC did a good job on the phones design. The physical button lay out is very accessible and the front face hepatic buttons are very easy to use. Now the WVGA AMOLED touchscreen is just a beauty, giving a very clear crispy image once powered on. It gives the phone the very stylish finish it deserves.

 

 

 

 

The OS, the nexus one runs Android 2.1 and it shows. I have a G1 and using the Nexus one is the difference between night and day.  The OS is much much smoother. getting in and out of apps feel comfortable and without an stress. The new additions and upgrades are also welcome. For starters the integration of Facebook more into the contacts is a big plus as well as the revised contact listing, makes it easy to access different communication points for a single contact. The new picture gallery with geo-tagging of pictures add a new dimension to when and where i took those pics. Also the live-wall paper adds a feature that still can be hard to replicate on a desktop experience.

 

SDC10574 SDC10576 SDC10571

 

Camera & Video Recording

The Nexus one’s 5 megapixel camera does a fantastic job in taking pictures. The pics came out pretty clear and clear. Also the video recording quality was very very good and clean. Though I don’t have video and pics from night time.

 

Indoors Pics

2010-02-19 11.25.22 2010-02-19 11.25.32

2010-02-19 15.02.14

 

Outdoor Pics

2010-02-19 11.26.19 2010-02-19 11.26.33

 

Native Video Recording

Web Browsing

SDC10577 SDC10578

The updated browser on the Nexus one, almost makes me want to dumb my beloved G1. its very fast and responsive. The addition of pinch to zoom is also a nice feature. But i do like the addition of preview windows for bookmarks. Enough talk see the vid for yourself.

In all the Nexus on is a solid phone and true to point the stage at with Android OS true breaks into its own. the ease of the OS is outstanding, the physical nature of the devices is also remarkable. But what shines is the idea of Google setting this phone as the standard bearer for Android and hope for other Android hardware manufacturers to follows suit. My one key draw back, and this maybe more personal than critical, is the lack of a full physical qwerty keyboard. This is the one reason I still use a G1, here’s hoping the Nexus 2 or Nexus one plus comes with one.

 

SDC10592 SDC10597

 

 

Technical Specs

 

Power and battery

Removable 1400 mAH battery

Charges at 480mA from USB, at 980mA from supplied charger

Talk time
Up to 10 hours on 2G
Up to 7 hours on 3G
Standby time
Up to 290 hours on 2G
Up to 250 hours on 3G
Internet use
Up to 5 hours on 3G
Up to 6.5 hours on Wi-Fi
Video playback
Up to 7 hours
Audio playback
Up to 20 hours

Processor

Qualcomm QSD 8250 1 GHz

Operating system

Android Mobile Platform 2.1 (Eclair)

Capacity

512MB Flash

512MB RAM

4GB Micro SD Card (Expandable to 32 GB)

Location

Assisted global positioning system (AGPS) receiver

Cell tower and Wi-Fi positioning

Digital compass

Accelerometer

Size and weight

Height
119mm
Width
59.8mm
Depth
11.5mm
Weight
130 grams w/battery
100g w/o battery

Display

3.7-inch (diagonal) widescreen WVGA AMOLED touchscreen

800 x 480 pixels

100,000:1 typical contrast ratio

1ms typical response rate

Camera & Flash

5 megapixels

Autofocus from 6cm to infinity

2X digital zoom

LED flash

User can include location of photos from phone’s AGPS receiver

Video captured at 720×480 pixels at 20 frames per second or higher, depending on lighting conditions

Cellular & Wireless

UMTS Band 1/4/8 (2100/AWS/900)

HSDPA 7.2Mbps

HSUPA 2Mbps

GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

Wi-Fi (802.11b/g)

Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR

A2DP stereo Bluetooth

Buttons, connectors and controls

  • Pingback: Booredatwork's Google Nexus One Video Review | Booredatwork

  • http://wifi-smartphone.com/google-nexus-one-from-htc-review/ smart

    I really like this device, i love HTC smartphones, AMOLED display is awesome, but i don’t need this camera, this camera is 5 megapixels, you can’t take serious pictures with it, it just makes price higher.

%d bloggers like this: